Spotlight on Elba

My name is Elba Gutierrez, but for my blog and artist purposes I go by Dawn Gutz. My name means dawn.

Image supplied by Elba


I work with children with special needs. I’ve worked with pretty much all disabilities in the spectrum. I love children and I love being a positive influence in their lives.

I love animals, especially dogs because of their loyalty. Loyalty is a quality I truly look for in my close friendships because I’m a loyal person.

I love to travel because I love to explore, learn languages. I am fluent in four. I have studied two other ones but have forgotten them because I don’t use them. I’m currently learning one more. Language learning is my thing.

I’m a big foodie. I mean really, I’m a foodie. I love to cook and maintain myself as active as possible. I love physical activity/sports but I’m definitely not in shape, haha.

One of my early loves is that of reading. I am such a curious person by nature so I’m constantly reading about health, history, physics, and science fiction (my not so guilty pleasure). I’m a positive person and I love helping people. I’m passionate about life.


How long have you been a chronic pain warrior?

I’ve dealt with fibromyalgia for about 10 years, but was diagnosed 5 years ago. I have two other chronic illnesses that showed up uninvited three years ago, but I’ve managed to keep them under control.


Image supplied and owned by Elba, no unauthorised use without permission from Elba


What made you start your blog travelingwithfibro?

A love for travel and not letting my chronic illnesses dictate my life is what motivated me. I wanted others to see that we can live our lives to the best of our potential.

My blog is an open space for people to ask questions about traveling with a chronic illness. I give tips that have helped me and welcome tips from others. I share things that my naturopath and my doctor have shared with me.

Also, it’s a space for me to voice whatever is on my mind. I talk about whatever has affected me and how I was able to turn it around for the positive.


What part of the world do you live in?

I live in Los Angeles, California, USA. It’s my home base.


What is the accessibility like in your local area?

Los Angeles is a great place to live in at this moment. There are so many things that have been done to make it more accessible to people with disabilities (i.e. street access, buildings).

Also, we have a plethora of restaurants that cater to every need and background, be it allergen-free, plant-based, ethnic, or even economic.


If a fellow warrior was visiting your local area, what places should they make sure they visit?

Wow, this one’s a little tough. I absolutely love The Griffith Observatory. It has a beautiful view of the city. I love views (I’m a closet hopeless romantic. Don’t tell anyone. Shhhh. Haha). Also the Getty Museum and the Villa are beautiful buildings and have great views. We have Hollywood.

Visit the beaches and Pasadena. I also recommend a tour of Downtown LA and Little Tokyo. Haha, I love LA. So much to see and do.

You can hit me up on my IG account and DM me for any suggestions. I can also make a quick run for you to see if a specific place is wheelchair accessible or whatever your need is. I’m here for ya!


If you could fly anywhere in the world where would it be and why?

Europe. I love the history, the architecture, and the cuisine. I mentioned I was a foodie but I also appreciate fine wine and beer. Europe…wine…beer…am I right?

When I was in my mid teens I really wanted to backpack through Europe but my parents didn’t allow me to go because I was too young. I have traveled to Spain and Portugal, but there is still so much more to explore. Now that I’m grown, I still have this strong desire to backpack through Europe. I will. Soon.


Where’s your favourite holiday destination?

My favorite vacation place is Hawaii. I have been there twice. I need to go back. I love the laid back island life. If I could live there, I would. I think my stress levels would go down greatly, haha.


Image supplied and owned by Elba, no unauthorised use without permission from Elba


What’s your best travel tip you could give to your fellow warriors?

My biggest tip is it’s ok to be anxious before a trip. There have been times when I have gotten very anxious right before a trip.

One example was when I was going to South Korea for three months. It was the first time I was going on a trip for an extended amount of time. The week before that I was waking up every night because of that. I kept having to talk myself in to going.

All my plans were set. Everything had already been in motion for it. I was completely prepared. There was no reason for my anxiety. I’m so glad I pushed myself. It was the trip of my life.

I learned so much about myself and how to deal with chronic illness abroad. That’s why I say it’s normal to feel anxiety when going on a trip, but don’t let it stop you. Take a deep breath, push and follow through with it. It’s so worth it! Don’t let chronic illness hold you back.

Another tip: Make sure you talk with your doctor for any medications and suggestions. Ask about required immunization. This is so important.


What is your biggest bug bare when travelling?

Hmmm, my biggest bug….packing. I hate packing. I get anxious because it’s a nuisance and I don’t like to pack a week before cuz I still need some of my things that I’m taking in the trip. At the same time I don’t want to forget anything important.

To solve that issue I write a list and I check it when I pack. I also take the list with me so it helps when I pack to come back home. That way I’m not worried about forgetting to take something or leaving something behind. This gives great peace of mind. Haha, I guess that’s another travel tip.


What is the one thing you would like to change about people’s perceptions of your conditions?

I want people to understand that each day is different for us. We may feel well today but not tomorrow. Or we may feel really sick today but tomorrow is a great day. Every. Day. Is. Different.

Each person has the right to decide how far they want to push if they can push. Please don’t judge us for that. Please try to understand us and show us compassion because we already struggle with ourselves. We greatly appreciate your support.


You can find Elba on the following social media platforms:

Instagram

@travelingwithfibro (traveling with chronic illness account)

@dawn_gutz (artist account)

Published by travellingwithchronicpain

Hi, my name is Sam, Welcome to my blog. I'm 32 and love to travel. I am living with Fibromyalgia, Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, POTs, GERD, IBS and Asthma which due to some of their lovely symptoms has left me with limited mobility and needing to use a wheelchair to get around. When planning a holiday there is so much more now that has to be researched: airline, airport, transfer, country, hotel and surrounding area. I am hoping to help and encourage others in a similar situation to mine to travel and get the most out of your holiday.

2 thoughts on “Spotlight on Elba

  1. I honestly love reading this! Thank you so much for bringing awareness to fibromyalgia. I feel so inspired to conquer each day and to have the courage and the strength to travel. Again thank you so much.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. this was so amazing and inspiring. i myself suffer with chronic illness. learning to live and travel with it will not be easy. but this, this right here, this incredible story will give me the courage to go on. thank you ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.